ACAT Assessment

Step 1: Assess

Assess your eligibility for government support

ACAT Assessment and support

The first step you need to take is to find out if you’re eligible for government aged care support. To do this, you’ll need an ACAT assessment - in other words, to be assessed by an Aged Care Assessment Team or ACAT (known as Aged Care Assessment Services or ACAS in Victoria).

Aged Care Assessment Teams are health professionals such as doctors, nurses, and social workers who provide information and advice to older people who are having difficulty living at home. The aged care support assessment helps establish which services and care you are eligible to access.

You can contact ACAT directly by calling 1800 200 422 or via the government’s My Aged Care website at or you can simply speak to your local doctor or health centre to provide a referral to your nearest ACAT.

What to expect from an ACAT assessment?

A member of ACAT will visit you at home to understand more about how you’re managing with day-to-day activities such as bathing, shopping, cooking, and cleaning. With your permission, your doctor may tell the ACAT representative about your medical history to help determine what kind of aged care support would be most beneficial for you. You may like to have a member of your family or a carer present during the visit. Once the ACAT has completed your assessment, they will let you know whether or not you are eligible to access government support for your residential aged care. They will either give you a copy of the assessment report or they may choose to post it to you. Your ACAT assessment is free and will be valid indefinitely unless it is granted for a specific period of time.

Types of care for which you may be eligible to receive support

Permanent care

Permanent care can range from assistance with personal care or day-to-day tasks to 24-hour nursing care for those with complex or high care needs.

Dementia care

Dementia care typically involves a higher level of care delivered in an environment designed specifically to meet the needs of people living with dementia.

Respite care

Respite care is short-term care, including day respite, to provide your caregivers with a break from caring when they need it. It can be planned or on an emergency basis and can be used for up to 63 days in a financial year. Many Care Communities offer day respite, which offers caregivers some flexibility to attend to personal needs and obligations as they arise.

Palliative care

Palliative care is care that helps people live their life as fully and comfortably as possible when living with a life-limiting or terminal illness. This type of care may continue for an extended period of time and aims to support physical, emotional, social and spiritual needs. End-of-life care is the care provided in the last few hours, days or weeks of life.

5 Steps into Residential Aged Care

FAQ's on the ACAT Assessment

  • The Aged Care Assessment Team (ACAT) are a group of medical and allied health professionals who assess the physical, health, psychological and social needs of elderly Australians. ACAT members include doctors, nurses, allied health professionals and social workers. 

  • An ACAT assessment is an assessment conducted by ACAT that determines the type and degree of care that a person considering aged care services such as residential aged care, transitional care or respite care needs. This assessment is for those wanting to find out if they are eligible for subsidised aged care services. 
    Based on this assessment, ACAT will recommend the most necessary care services and government support available to them.

  • To check if you are eligible for an ACAT assessment you can call My Aged Care at 1800 200 422 or apply online at

  • You can apply for an ACAT assessment in the link provided below

  • From your date of application, ACAT assessments can take anywhere between 2 days to 6 weeks depending on the urgency of your situation. 

  • To prepare for an assessment, you will need:

    •    A Medicare card and one additional ID 

    •    Any referrals from your GP.

    •    Contact details of your GP and any other health professionals involved in your care. 

    •    To consider your own needs, conditions and any aged care services that interest you.   

    •    To consider if you would like a person to support you or an interpreter. 

  • There are no fees or costs to have an ACAT assessment. 

opal pebble background opal pebble background

Start exploring our Care Communities

Search here